Writing Blog Tour … what???

Standard

So, I have these friends … I actually have a lot of friends who find a creative outlet through writing. The explosion of the blog-a-sphere has allowed many of my uber-talented friends to have a platform with which to express that creativity.

One said friend is a very, very “old” friend … not age-wise. but length wise … we were college roommates for a couple of summers and then some … was asked by another friend to do a “writing blog tour.”

To be honest, the thought of it freaked me out a bit.

See, I fancy myself as “a writer.” But truth be told “a writer” by very definition … writes. And while I have been told I have a way with words … and I’ve done a couple of things that wowed and inspirited “close” friends … but truthfully? As messed up as this idea is, I feel like I’ll only be a “real” writer when I make money doing it, you know?

Yeah, yeah … the monetization of the creative and all. I know, I know … I’ve told many people to NOT pay attention to that .. but in my own little world, I struggle with it all. Anyway … enough psychoanalysis. Back to the writing tour …

So awesome “old friend” Lisa (you can check her out either at: http://mirkwoodreflections.blogspot.com/2014/05/my-writing-process-blog-tour.html or http://cornerstonehomelearning.blogspot.com/2014/05/my-writing-process-blog-tour.html“When do you find the time?”) asked me to do this writing blog tour “thingy.”

It’s pretty simple: answer the following four questions about my writing process:

“Where do you find the time?”
“How long does it take?”
“Where do you get your ideas?”
“Isn’t it hard?”

SIMPLE, right??  *Sigh*

No … NOT simple! Because, to answer these questions, I have to take a good, long, hard look at myself and what I do … and if I even have the right to call myself a writer anymore because quite frankly, my life is a bit chaotic, and I barely write anything anymore unless it’s curriculum for the classes I teach, or brief one-shot comments on Facebook.

So, I decided I’d break these four question apart. That way, I’d eek out at least four (counting this one, five) posts concerning why I write, and what I do in the process.

OK, so tomorrow (or maybe the next day … I’ve got stuff to do tomorrow), I’ll be commenting on “Where do I find the time to write?” That should be a short post … seeing, I never find time to write …

 

 

Leave a Reply

