Not so far away

Standard

Last night (this morning?) I had the opportunity to Skyp with my kids who are currently teaching in China. They are well … adjusting. It’s a lot to be in your early twenties, and thrown into a new culture to teach their next generation of scholars and leaders. But they are adjusting well, and are actually enjoying their transition.

Early in the week, I helped my daughter who lives in Oklahoma on a class-end project via Skyp. We talked, laughed, and I got to reassure her that yes, she is as brilliant as I tell her, and to see her sweet, sweet face as we worked though grammar and structure. I was reassured … she’s a long, long way from home and I miss being able to just be with her. 

My other two kids are still in high school. One leaves next year, the little One is sure her path will take her to Europe, England, Ireland … who knows? All I know is my breath quickens when we talk, and I beg her to give me a little space and time. We do, after all, have three years to figure it all out … 

When I was growing up and moving out, my parents were lucky to get a weekly phone call from me. I hate talking on the phone … I would write an occasional letter, most of which I found after my mom died in her dresser … sorely few of them. 

I am thankful … oh, so very thankful … that I live in a time when my kids who are 19 and thirty hours from me are only a quick click away … that we can share the mundaneness of life. Just before the kids left for China, all my chicks here called the girl and her boy in Oklahoma, and told each other stupid jokes, laughing and making faces just like they do when they are all sitting around my living room, watching chick flix or eating my husband’s homemade caramel corn. 

So, in the midst of this traumatic transition of life for me, I have come to realize that thankfully, these beautiful children of mine really aren’t that far away. I can still see them, talk to them, look into their eyes and remind them of how precious they are to me. Sure, I can’t hug them … but I will again, before long. Thanks to Estonian developers Ahti HeinlaPriit Kasesalu, and Jaan Tallinn, Danish Janus Friis, and Swedish Niklas Zennström, who had also originally developed Kazaa … the forerunner to what we know as Skyp. 

Today, I’m just a little more content. 

One response »

  1. I am so glad that you have been able to skype. You are being very brave and such a great mother to let them go with grace. As difficult as it must be, you are allowing grace to show.

Leave a Reply

