Aside

One thing church people like to do is eat — and I mean, eat well.

The church we’re at now is full of GREAT cooks! I always tell DH, “We should have more potlucks, you know, for building community … yeah, yeah, that’s the ticket … potluck to build community.” He’s not fooled by my ruse. He knows I like to eat.

I am, after all, a foodie.

So I’m going to post one of my favorite comfort food recipes from one of my favorite cooks here. OK, they’re all my favorite cooks, so no one get upset. But this is definitely my favorite homemade macaroni and cheese recipe ever. Yep … homemade, restaurant prepared … better than Panera, better than my favorite homemade sandwich stop down the road .. the best.

And today, without permission, I am sharing it with you. Please don’t tell Marie … she might want royalties or something, and since I’m not making any money on the blog … that would just get awkward.

IMG_7887

Aunt Marie’s Mac and Cheese:

½ C. Butter

1 T. dried onion

4-5 T. flour

1 T. minced garlic

3 C. milk

2 lb. cooked macaroni

1 8 oz. block sharp cheddar cheese – sliced

1 8 oz. block Colby-jack cheese – sliced

2 8 oz. bags of shredded cheese (you choose flavors)

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 13×9” pan with cooking spray, and set aside.

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion, garlic, salt and pepper to butter, and stir well. Then, add flour slowly to make a paste.

Add milk 1 cup at a time, and cook until thicken. Set aside.

Pour half of cooked macaroni into the prepared 13×9” pan. Place one layer of sliced cheese alternating different types, then one layer of shredded cheese. Add the rest of the macaroni and repeat cheese layering.

Pour butter/flour mix over macaroni. Bake in pre-heated oven for approximately 40-45 minutes, until toasty.

Yesterday I paired it with some great cheese bread (reoccurring theme, anyone?) and some amazing “green bean bacon bundles” I found on Pinterest (go be my friend, if you want the recipe). Topped off with my mom’s banana cream pudding (which my dad said was better than my mom made, which of course, made me cry), it was definitely a meal to not only write home about, but stay home and enjoy.

In my part of the country, it’ll be getting cold soon. This probably ranks as a “top twenty cold-day, comfort food” kind of menu. I’ll be making it again, and if you’re lucky, you might just get an invite!

Marie’s Mac and Cheese

One response »

  1. I agree Gina – more potlucks to build community… Yeah, that’s it!! I’m thinking I need to talk to the boss man and schedule one very soon. :o) I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Aunt Marie’s Mac and Cheese; I highly recommend it!!

Leave a Reply

