Are we all crazy?

Standard

I stumbled across a site today (won’t give it out, because it bothered me so much) where zealots screamed untruths fashioned from their own limited intelligence and understanding. Seemingly they have made a choice, and then failed to continue seeking any thing that somehow conflicts with “where they stand.”

I purposely left my political philosophies out of my first paragraph, ’cause I see crazy everywhere I look anymore.

Whatever happened to a country where educated people could sit and reason together?

18“Come now, and let us reason together,”
Says the LORD,
“Though your sins are as scarlet,
They will be as white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson,
They will be like wool.

19“If you consent and obey,
You will eat the best of the land;

20“But if you refuse and rebel,
You will be devoured by the sword.”
Truly, the mouth of the LORD has spoken…

24  …Therefore the Lord GOD of hosts,
The Mighty One of Israel, declares,
“Ah, I will be relieved of My adversaries
And avenge Myself on My foes.

25“I will also turn My hand against you,
And will smelt away your dross as with lye
And will remove all your alloy.

26“Then I will restore your judges as at the first,
And your counselors as at the beginning;
After that you will be called the city of righteousness,
A faithful city.”

I know not everyone agrees as to the relevancy of Bible text. And here, I did leave out three verses that deal specifically with Zion (who some would say apply to the US, but their opinions have no biblical basis, since the US didn’t exist “back then.”). But these verses are interesting to me.

First off, God (through Isaiah) is saying, “Let’s sit down and talk about this.” In this passage HE knows what their sin is. HE is, after all, God, right? But he doesn’t start throwing lightning bolts or screaming about someone’s stupidity or even claim the knowledge of stuff that for all intents and purposes is hearsay and build an entire life or political paradigm around it. Instead, he says, “Lets sit down and reason (think rationally, think logically, use one’s common sense, use one’s  head/brain;  formal cogitated,  ratiocinate) with one another. Or maybe it’s “reason” in the sense of: bring around, coax, persuade, prevail on,  convince,  make someone see the light. Either way, I don’t hear inflammatory speech, or asserting WE are right and YOU are wrong.

The funny thing is many of these people will also claim to “have the mind of Christ.” Yet I find it tough to find any passages in the Gospels that show Jesus in this light. And if you take me to where he cleared the temple, make sure you understand he cleared THE TEMPLE, not a political place, or even a merchant place. He cleaned out the religious place because they were MISSING THE MARK OF WHAT GOD INTENDED. At least that’s my understanding.

The other part of the above passage I see is that God says HE will be the one avenging, cleansing, and restoring. It’s not religious zealots. It’s not extreme patriots. It’s not political saviors. In the words of the immortal band, David and the Giants: He’s got it under control.

Of all the things in the world that seem chaotic and harmful, the thing that scares me the most isn’t that people are thinking for themselves. It’s that many people seem to have forgotten to think for themselves. That they are willing to jump on the first bandwagon that comes along that in any way intimates what they believe — whether they “know” or not …. This hyper identification then seems to lead to vilifying anyone that doesn’t jump on the same band wagon.

The truth is that everyone has “good” and “bad” in them. Another truth is that most of us are on a journey that has many twists, and turns, and bumps and like the parable of the Good Samaritan, I think God smiles on us when stop along the way to help and take care of those abused and beaten up — and he doesn’t take busyness or religious excuses from us when we ignore the wounded.

So, please friends. Let’s stop — even a little bit — of the craziness that is permeating our society! Everyone is so distraught by “terrorists” and their extremism. I only have to check some of my FB friends’ pages to see something much more terrifying to me. We don’t have to all agree. But we should all try to maintain some level of humanity. And just because I disagree with you doesn’t make you anymore “right” or “wrong.” Hang on to your beliefs — but don’t let them make you an idiot, or don’t use them like a sledgehammer against someone who doesn’t agree with you.

Like John Mayer once said, “Is there anyone who really recalls, Ever breaking rank at all, For something someone yelled real loud one time?”

Leave a Reply

