Chicken noodle goodness

Standard

In this part of the world, the temperature is like a non-committed lover … hot and heavy one minute, cool and aloof the next. Today, we went from the seventies to the high 30’s tonight … yikes!

But the drastic temperatures bring out the brilliant colors that highlight our change of season! Still … it’s tough to take sometime.

However, in my world … this flip-flop means it’s time for (drum roll, please) soup! Soup! Soup!I posted this on my Facebook page, but thought it warranted a re-post here for my friends who aren’t a part of my Facebook world. I need to re-iterate … the older I get, the more I follow what’s commonly known as Ayurveda cooking philosophy. (http://ayurvedic-cooking.com/). That means I cook sometimes by “feel” or sight, or “sense”. I know … call me crazy. But you know what? It works!

So below is my “teetering on the edge of spirituality” chicken noodle soup. I hope you enjoy the soup … and the process of making this delicious soup for those you love.

Noodles:

(Please note: homemade noodles need to “dry,” so I made these the night before)

Homemade noodles are so flipping simple! For this batch, I did 2 eggs, about 1 t. of salt (Kosher) and “enough flour to enable me to roll them out”. Sorry … start with 1 cup, and keep adding until it forms a coarse mixture that, when rolled, rolls like cookie dough. I rolled mine between 2 sheets of parchment paper. I rolled it to a thickness I like (like the frozen noodles you buy that say “homemade” on them). I used my pizza cutter to cut them out, and set them on non-colored newspaper overnight.

Chicken:

I started with two large bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts, a medium onion, a clove or two of garlic (I actually used dried minced this time), salt and pepper, and some olive oil.

I coat a frying pan with olive oil, and put it on the stove over a medium heat.  I sliced the onion, and spread it around the prepared pan. I sprinkled the garlic onto the onion bed and covered, to let the onions sweat it out a bit.

I salt and peppered the chicken breasts, and laid them on the bed of onions. Then, I cooked them until they were ever-so-slighly brown.

While they were cooking, I prepared the crock pot. I added about 2 C. chicken broth, 2-3 stalks of celery (cut into thirds, for easy removal), about 1 t. celery salt, 2-3 bay leaves, another good sprinkled of dried garlic (1 clove equivalent) and about 1 t. garlic salt (I’m thinking the garlic made this soup rock!).

When the chicken breast were browned, I transfered the breast, and all the goodies in the frying pan into the crock pot. I set in on “high,” and left it along for 3 – 31/2 hours. After that time, I took the chicken out. I set it aside, and drained the broth through a strainer (catch the broth!!). I threw the chunks of stuff away, and then added the broth to another “box” of store-bought chicken broth and put it all back in the crock pot. I skinned the chicken, cut it off the bone, and chunked it into “bite-size” pieces. I put those back into the pot.

Veggies:

I’m always using different kinds of veggies for soup. This batch consisted of four more stalks of celery (cut into 1/2″ or so pieces, leaves and all), 5 large carrots, peeled and cut into small cubes, another medium onion, peeled and diced, and about 8 oz. frozen corn. I put 2 T butter into my frying pan, melted it, and added carrots. Covered those puppies for 5-7 minutes. Then I added the other veggies minus the corn. I cooked them about 3-5 more minutes.

Then, I scraped all the veggie goodness into the crock pot. I turned the heat to low, and let it set another four hours.

Two hours before serving, I slip the dried noodles into the pot. I covered, and let it simmer until we ate.

Lots of work? Yeah, maybe. But it was all from whole foods (sans the box o chicken broth), and seriously, it was very, very good.

OK, enjoy … and play with it a bit!

2 responses »

  1. I, too, am a Ayurveda cook! I had no idea! Every meal is a sensing of the day & what fits with it. I have tried making a meal plan (like twice), but this works better for me. Now that you have told me there is a name for it, I will embrace it even more lovingly and puposely. I love it. (the link didn’t work, btw).

  2. Yeah! I’m sure there are other names … true “Ayurvedic” involves vegetarian, holistic, etc. … a lot I’ve toyed with, but have never fully committed to. But I think a lot of cooking for me is the touch, the feel, the love … sounds corny, I know. But you “get” me, so I’m OK saying it!!! Sorry about the link … it worked for me! *Sigh* I’ll have to figure it out … love you!!!

Leave a Reply

